Connection lost — trying to reconnect. Anything still loading will stay empty until this clears.

The United Opposition's Principals: Who Signed What

The BallotWinners Team · · 4 min read · 17 views
Kalonzo Musyoka addressing a gathering

As of 23 September 2026 the only document binding most of Kenya's opposition principals was a unity pact signed on 24 August. It committed them to choose one presidential candidate jointly and to campaign for whoever was chosen, and it named neither a candidate nor a method. Around it sat a renamed coalition, The Ukombozi Alliance, a Jubilee-PNU pact and talks between DCP and Wiper. Edwin Sifuna (Senator, Nairobi) and his Linda Mwananchi movement were outside the pact.

The 24 August unity pact

The Star reported on 5 September: "On August 24, the principals signed a unity pact committing themselves to jointly select a presidential candidate." They also "agreed to fully support and campaign for whoever is chosen to carry their common mandate in 2027," the paper said.

BallotWinners reported on 25 August that two documents were signed at the Windsor venue in Kiambu, a Personal Unity Pledge and a Coalition Unity Agreement, and listed eight principals present. Neither text has been published. See the Windsor pact.

Principal Party Present at Windsor, 24 August
Kalonzo Musyoka Wiper Patriotic Front yes
Martha Karua People's Liberation Party (PLP) yes
Fred Matiang'i Jubilee Party yes
Justin Muturi Democratic Party yes
Eugene Wamalwa Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) yes
Peter Munya Party of National Unity (PNU) yes
Lenny Kivuti not stated in our report yes
Omingo Magara not stated in our report yes
Rigathi Gachagua Democracy for Citizens Party (DCP) not in our list
Edwin Sifuna none registered; Linda Mwananchi not in our list

The Star's 5 September report counted seven aspirants in the field: Kalonzo, Gachagua, Sifuna, Matiang'i, Muturi, Wamalwa and Karua.

Deals between pairs

On 18 August Gachagua hosted a Wiper delegation at his Wamunyoro home and proposed that DCP and Wiper unite first. "What I am asking is for DCP and Wiper to first unite. Isn't it, then we talk to the others," The Star reported him saying. The paper later reported that the two were finalising a joint working framework. Wiper denied an exclusive deal, and no signed text has been published.

Jubilee has its own arrangement with Munya's PNU. On Meru radio on 9 September, Matiang'i said it covered only the presidency and the Meru governor seat.

Then there is the ticket Kalonzo's camp wants. The Star reported on 23 September that it hoped to have a Kalonzo-Sifuna ticket named by 10 October. No agreement between the two men had been reported by that date.

The Ukombozi Alliance

On 21 September Kalonzo announced that the coalition formerly called Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition had unanimously renamed itself The Ukombozi Alliance. The coalition's members took that decision; the 24 August signatories were a different group. The National Liberal Party, a member, objected, The Star reported, and the chair was reported two ways. We explained both in the Ukombozi Alliance explained.

Outside the pact

Sifuna has said the opposition must field one candidate. At Jacaranda on 13 September he said he would speak with Gachagua, Kalonzo and James Orengo (Governor, Siaya) to produce one. A technical committee under Arap Kirwa was reported to be drafting how the movement would join the talks.

David Maraga's People's Coalition on Electoral Reforms, which set out five IEBC demands on 15 September, includes Muturi, Caleb Amisi (Saboti) and Caroli Omondi (Suba South). Its business is the electoral rules. It has not tried to pick a candidate.

Why the paperwork matters

The law cares about a different document. A pre-election coalition agreement must be deposited with the Registrar of Political Parties, and the Registrar's timelines put that in April and May 2027. What it must contain is set out in the coalition agreement explainer.

Until that is filed, the signatures show intent and little more. The method of choosing the candidate is still open, as we described in poll or negotiation, and so is the timing, covered in November, Christmas or March.

What to watch

  • Whether any principal publishes the text of the Coalition Unity Agreement.
  • Whether Gachagua and Sifuna sign the 24 August pact or its successor.
  • Which parties lodge a coalition agreement with the Registrar, and when.

Frequently Asked Questions

What did the opposition principals sign on 24 August 2026?

The Star reported they signed a unity pact committing to select one presidential candidate jointly and to campaign for whoever is chosen. It named no candidate and no selection method.

Who are Kenya's opposition principals?

The Star listed seven aspirants in September 2026: Kalonzo Musyoka, Rigathi Gachagua, Edwin Sifuna, Fred Matiang'i, Justin Muturi, Eugene Wamalwa and Martha Karua. Peter Munya, Lenny Kivuti and Omingo Magara also attend principals' meetings.

Has the opposition filed a coalition agreement?

Not as of 23 September 2026. The Registrar's timelines put coalition agreements in April and May 2027.

Related posts